Club Competitions

J. G. Hogan Memorial Senior Classic

This is an annual club handicap competition for 13 year olds and above, swum freestyle over 100m. The event mirrored the featured local race of the time, the Lenten Bracelet Handicap of the Bendigo Swimming Club, and was created in recognition of the long term service of John Hogan, who was Secretary of the Progress Association for many years. The competition was first swum on February 26, 1949.

A. H. Graham Junior Classic

This event is the Club`s annual handicap for 12 year olds and under, swum freestyle over 50m. The event was established in 1962 and recognises the service of Albert Graham, after whom the Bendigo East pool is also named, who was Secretary of the swimming club from 1950 to 1982.

J.P. Tully Club Pairs Championships

This is an annual club competition, open to all club members, swum as a 2x50m freestyle handicap event. The event recognises the contributions of Mr J.P. (Jack) Tully, the foundation President of the Bendigo East Progress Association, a position he held for 25 years, and who was intrumental in the development of the Bendigo East pool. Jack Tully was also a Life Governor of the Bendigo Hospital and Home for the Aged, and a recipient of the Queen's Medal for community service and outstanding charitable work. Under special circumstances, the Racing Committee may waive the time trial requirements to enable all swimmers to compete.

Swimmers must have swum in at least 5 time trials over the season to enter club events. Handicaps for the Hogan Memorial, the Graham Classic and the Tully Club Pairs Championships are set by the Racing Committee, based on Club time trials over the season. The events are swum in February, with an initial elimination round followed by a final on the last Wednesday in February.

Andrew Jones Memorial Trophy - Male and Female Club Champion of Champions

The Club Champion of Champions will be conducted as a 200m Individual Medley race on a time trial basis. Swimmers must have represented the club at 3 Swimming Victoria meets during the year.

Male and Female Age Group Champion

Age Group Champions will be swum for each age group (12 years and older, 11 years and under), as a 200m Individual Medley.