2015 Countries team

The team for 2015 Country Championships in Geelong

Good luck to the team in Geelong!

This Australia Day weekend 45 members of the Bendigo East Swimming Club will compete against country Victoria's best swimmers, competing in the 2015 Victorian Country Long Course Championships in Geelong. The club will be represented by the largest team ever send to Countries, and all the swimmers are looking to build on a very solid season at the "Grand Finals" of country competition. The facilities at Geelong are excellent and very conducive to fast times, which will help the team produce their best.
Bendigo East swimmers competing in the championships include Layla Day, Zoe Deed, Xavier Dole, Harry Downing, Emily Evans, Carmen Franz, Jayda Freeman, Alexandra Gibson, Bailey Harriden, Mackai Harriden, Holly Hawke, Madeleine Hawke, Thomas Hawke, Harrison Howell, Hayley Jacobsen, Kyle Jacobsen, Liam Jacobsen, Cameron Jordan, Kate Jordan, James Kealy, Torsten Lau, Zalli Lau, Ziggy Lau, Anna Mittell, James Mittell, Halena Morgan, Kaitlyn Morgan, Xavier Morrissey, Jack Nicholas, Tahlee O'Keefe, Eleanor Rodda, Bryce Schubert, Mitchell Sherlock, Maggie Skewes, Jarrod Slot, Matthew Slot, Erin Smeelie, Connor Symons, Michael Valentine, Kiara Verbeek, Brittany Wassing, Ella Wassing, Imogen Wassing, Charlie Whitsed and Sebastian Wood. The club will also have a total of 26 teams competing in the relay events.

Great performances at the 2015 Victorian Age Championships!

A team of 21 swimmers represented the club at the State Age Championships, looking to build on a solid season to date, and produced some very encouraging results. The highlight was the girls 17-18 years 200m butterfly on the final night of competition, with Kate Jordan winning bronze. Kate was the standout swimmer for the Bendigo East team, her bronze medal capping a successful meet where she qualified for 6 finals, finishing 7th in the girls 17-18 years 100m breaststroke, 5th in 400m Individual Medley, 200m IM and 200m breaststroke, and 6th in 100m butterfly.

The Bendigo East swimmers qualified for 21 finals, with some very encouraging efforts from some younger members of the team. Harry Downing performed strongly in finishing 5th in the boys 11/u 100m butterfly, 6th in 200m IM and 8th in 100m freestyle and Maggie Skewes 8th in the 11/under girls 100m freestyle, 9th in 200m freestyle and 10th in 200m backstroke. Other finalists included Matthew Slot, 8th in the boys 16 years 400m freestyle and 8th in 400 IM, Emily Evans, 6th in the girls 12 years 100m backstroke and 9th in 200m backstroke, Kiara Verbeek 9th in the 14 years girls 100m breaststroke and Mitchell Sherlock 8th in the boys 13/under 800m freestyle with a 14 second PB and 9th in the 200m butterfly. Among many other great performances, the effort of Jarrod Slot in finishing 12th in the boys 14-15 years 1500m with a 26 second PB was outstanding. The relays teams have also performed very well, all swimming under their entry times, with the girls 12 4x50m freestyle relay and the girls 18/u 4x100m freestyle relay teams both finishing 11th.
In the overall points score competition, the Bendigo East team finished 28th out of the 112 clubs competing at the Championships, one of their highest ever results. The focus now moves to the 2015 Country Championships in Geelong over the Australia Day weekend, with the club holding high hopes of success after the results of an excellent week of swimming.

Welcome to Bendigo East Swimming Club!

"BESC aims to develop the opportunity for swimmers of all abilities to progress from learning to swim to competitive swimming, and achieve their full potential in a supportive, friendly, and social setting. The club encourages community and team spirit, and strives to promote a lifelong love of the sport."

Latest News

Kate Jordan - State Age bronze medalist in 200m butterfly

Kate Jordan - 2015 State Age bronze medalist in 200m butterfly

2014-15 Time Trials program
Targeted meets Summer 2014

BESC Qualifying meet results, Dec 6

How to join BESC
Season 2013-14 Handbook
2014 Annual General Meeting report
November 2014 Newsletter
Squad training times
Learn To Swim program
Club Records

Pool Opening hours:
Mon, Wed, Fri:5.30am to 7.00pm
Tues, Thurs: 6.00am to 7.00pm
Weekends: 10.00am to 6.00pm

Pool Entry fees

          cvs logo

You can't put a limit on anything. The more you dream, the farther you get.
- Michael Phelps

Vicentre partnership

The Bendigo East Swimming Club is very proud of the joint venture with the Melbourne Vicentre club. As a result of this arrangement, swimmers have opportunities to train with Vicentre squads in Melbourne on a regular basis. The club looks forward to the further development and strengthening of the links with one of the strongest clubs in Australia.